logo

New Orleans City Council to Vote on Housing Demolitions

Print

December 17, 2007 | bpfna

Here's an update and call to action on the New Orleans public housing situation from the group Coalition to Stop the Demolition:

City Council holds the power to halt the demolition of public housing; this Thursday, they will vote.  


On Friday, December 14, there was a Louisiana State Court Order postponing all demolitions at C.J. Peete, Lafitte, and St. Bernard until the City Council of New Orleans approves that decision.  City Council announced it will take this matter up on Thursday December 20, 2007. The Coaliton to Stop the Demolition will hold a press conference this Tuesday to demand that they vote NO!

Stop the demolitions - all available housing must be reopened and rebuilt immediately!

The Coalition Press Conference:
DATE: Tuesday, December 18th
TIME: 10:30 AM
PLACE: New Orleans City Hall

What you can do:

1. COME TO NEW ORLEANS CITY COUNCIL THIS THURSDAY, 10 AM
2. CONTACT ELECTED OFFICIALS - Please contact these people and ask them to stop the demolition:

George Bush - President - 202-456-1111
Alphonso Jackson, Secy of HUD - (202) 708-1112
Sen. Mary Landrieu, 202-224-5824; Fax: 202-224-9735
Sen. David Vitter - (504) 589-2753, DC Office (202) 224-4623
Rep. William Jefferson Phone:  (202) 225-6636; FAX:  (202) 225-1988

Mayor of New Orleans Ray Nagin - 504.658.4900

New Orleans City Council Members:
Arnie Fielkow - (504) 658-1060 AFielkow@cityofno.com
Jacquelyn Clarkson - (504) 658-1070 JBClarkson@cityofno.com
Stacy Head - (504) 658-1020 SHead@cityofno.com
Shelley Midura - (504) 658-1010 SMidura@cityofno.com
James Carter - (504) 658-1030 JCarter@cityofno.com
Cynthia Hedge-Morrell - (504) 658-1040 CHMorrell
Cynthia Willard-Lewis - (504) 658-1050 CWLewis@cityofno.com

Coalition to Stop the Demolition | 1418 N. Claiborne | New Orleans | LA | 70112
www.defendneworleanspublichousing.org


Peacemaker Fair Trade Project Meet Our Members Donate to BPFNA Buy Resources