View this website in / Ver este sitio web en:

BPFNA ~ Bautistas por la Paz Board Welcomes Asaf Vera Baltodano as TYAYA Representative

from the BPFNA ~ Bautistas por la Paz board and staff


October 4, 2017


Asaf Vera Baltodano is currently living in Mexico City, but was born and raised in Ensenada, Baja California. He is a member of Shalom Baptist Church in Mexico City. Asaf is in the middle of his Theological studies and is starting a program for a Degree in Pedagogy at the UNAM (National Autonomous University of Mexico). From an early age he has dedicated himself to working with youth and supporting the work of his churches in Ensenada and in Mexico City. He is also in the Federation of Young Baptists of Baja California and supports projects in the National Young Baptist Union. Asaf has also participated in some youth and teen camps and has given talks about integral mission, justice, and peace. Since he began his walk with Jesus on issues of social justice and peace, it has been a stronghold for his faith. Asaf attended the 2016 Summer Conference in Philadelphia, which was where he first became involved with BPFNA ~ Bautistas por la Paz. Asaf says, “I am very encouraged to know men and women [doing this work]. Mexico has been the Jerusalem to which God has called me and I trust that God will continue to do his work calling more and more young people to work for a better world.”

Members of the 2017-2018 BPFNA ~ Bautistas por la Paz Board of Directors

Staff note: The BPFNA board is proud to present the members and officers for the next year. The TYAYA Representatives are elected by the Youth and Young Adult groups each year at Summer Conference. Click here to learn more about all our board members.

New Board Members
Asaf Vera Baltodano (TYAYA Rep)

Members Starting a Second Term
Viola Mayol
Anita Peebles
(Anita served for two years as the Youth and Young Adult (TYAYA) Representative and will now serve a 1-year term to complete a full 3-year board term.)

Continuing Members
Alison Amyx
Peter Carman
Teresa Diewert
Rick Harris
Monty Kearse
Kristin Kelly
Josue Saldivar (TYAYA Rep)

Members Concluding Their Service
Joe Abbey-Colborne
Cody Sanders
Amaury Tañón-Santos
Ximena Ulloa Montemayor
Judson Day

Executive Board Officers
President: Mayra Picos Lee
Vice President: Michael Ware
Secretary: Fela Barrueto
(formerly held by Cody Sanders)
Treasurer: Kadia Edwards


Peacemaker Fair Trade Project Meet Our Members Donate to BPFNA Buy Resources