logo

Peace Camp Music: A Note from Steve & Leslie

Due to the number of inquiries about the songs sung during Peace Camp, Steve and Leslie put together the following list. It includes sources of all the contemporary pieces, with links to websites, etc, and also the lyrics of the three original “doxologies” that were written and used during the week.

Original Songs

Children of God
Fifteen Minutes
Immigrants
Just Fine
One Great Hour to Share
One Of These Mornings
The Dove

You can find more about these (and purchase recordings for most of them) at www.leslieandsteve.com.

If you have other requests related to these songs, feel free to write and ask! You can reach Steve and Leslie by email at: sgretz@rochester.rr.com.

Doxologies

Doxology during evening service in which we memorialized old friends:

Praise God for faithful, loving friends
Whose legacy on us depends
We pray for strength, to carry on
Their work for peace, now that they’re gone

Two “morning” doxologies:

Awake, my soul, the new day’s sun
Calls us, a nobler race to run
Shake off regret, and joyful rise,
Embracing freely love’s surprise

and

I open up myself to you
Refreshing as the morning dew
May Spirit guide my heart and mind
And help me, loving words to find

They have compiled a collection of 74 of these New Hundredths in a recently published book, that is available for $20 (which includes shipping).

Songs from other Contemporary Songwriters

All My Troubles Seem Small – T.R. Ritchie    http://trritchie.com/
Come With Me – Joe Jencks    http://joejencks.com/
Don’t Walk Away From Love – Cosy Sheridan   http://www.cosysheridan.com/
God Is Love – Mindy Jostyn   http://mindyjostyn.com/
House Of Gold – Hank Williams   http://hankwilliams.com/
I Give Thanks – Kathryn Mostow   http://kathrynmostow.com/
I’m Amazing – Keb’ Mo’   http://www.kebmo.com/
In The Name Of Love – Greg Greenway   https://c9tuning.wordpress.com/
Just A Little Man – Jim Miiller (Southern Rail)   http://southernrail.com/
Love Is The Water – Pat Wictor   http://patwictor.com/
Orphan Girl – Gillian Welch   http://www.gillianwelch.com/
Ours Is A Simple Faith – David Tamulevich   http://www.mustardsretreat.com/
Potter’s Wheel – Bill Danoff   http://billdanoff.com/
That Kind of Love – Pierce Pettis   http://www.piercepettis.com/
The Mill Was Made Of Marble – Joe Glazer   http://www.allmusic.com/artist/joe-glazer-mn0000784479/biography
Two Hands – Townes Van Zandt   http://townesvanzandt.com/
What Must Be Done – Greg Greenway   https://c9tuning.wordpress.com/
What’s So Funny ‘bout Peace, Love and Understanding – Nick Lowe   http://nicklowe.com/

Traditional, Old-Time Songs and Hymns

A Beautiful Life
Angel Band
Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing
Driftin’ Too Far From the Shore
Farther Along
I’ll Fly Away
I’ll Not Be A Stranger
Keep On The Sunny Side
Life’s Railway to Heaven
Make a Joyful Noise Unto The Lord
Sunshine In The Shadows
When I Survey The Wondrous Cross
You Don’t Love God If You Don’t Love Your Neighbor
You Go To Your Church And I’ll Go To Mine


Peacemaker Fair Trade Project Meet Our Members Donate to BPFNA Buy Resources